Curtis Martin denied into Hall of Fame

Of course former New York Jets RB Curtis Martin didn’t get elected into the football hall of fame today; he’s a former Jet.

The New York Jets’ all-time leading rusher and No. 4 in NFL history, was denied in his first year of eligibility for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Announcing the Class of 2011 at 7 p.m. on live television, this year’s inductees are Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders and Shannon Sharpe.

Sanders and Faulk were first timers on the ballot. Martin, one of 15 finalists, was hoping to join them. Prior to today’s class, only 65 of the 270 Hall of Famers were inducted on the first try.

Martin made cut from 15 to 10 on Saturday, but was eliminated on the cut from 10 to five.

Rushing for 14,101 yards in 11 seasons with both the Jets and New England Patriots, only Emmitt Smith, Barry Sanders and Walter Payton have outgained him. Martin and Sanders are the only players in history to rush for at least 1,000 yards in each of their first 10 seasons.

“I’m totally prepared for [not being inducted],” Martin said earlier in the week. “I’m the type of guy that takes things as they come. For me, it’s been an honor. I don’t say this modestly or anything, but it’s been such an honor for me to accomplish what I accomplished in the NFL. Nothing will take that away from me or that joy of being able to play the years I have and accomplish what I have. Nothing will take that away.”

Next Jets Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00Buffalo BillsBuy Tickets

Tags: Barry Sanders Curtis Martin Deion Sanders Hall Of Fame Martin Marshall Faulk Martin Hof Nfl Hall Of Fame Shannon Sharpe

comments powered by Disqus