Jets News

Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

By Alan Schechter

Bill Parcells gets his second shot at the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame has announced its list of finalists for 2013 induction. Here it is:

Larry Allen (G/T), Jerome Bettis (RB), Tim Brown (WR), Cris Carter (WR), Curley Culp (DT/G), Edward DeBartolo Jr. (owner), Kevin Greene (LB), Charles Haley (DE), Art Modell (owner), Jonathan Ogden (OT), Bill Parcells (coach), Andre Reed (WR), Dave Robinson (LB), Warren Sapp (DT), Will Shields (G), Michael Strahan (DE), Aeneas Williams (CB)

It will be quite surprising if Bill Parcells doesn’t earn his way into the Hall this year, as many were shocked that he didn’t get in on his first ballot last year. It’s good to see Eddie Debartolo making that list. He fell into problems at the end of his time owning the 49ers, but that should not take away from his accomplishments with the team.

It’s still amazing from a Jets perspective that Joe Klecko can’t even make the finalist list. He made the Pro Bowl at all of the positions on the defensive line. Can anyone else say that? No they can not, but yet, he can’t even be a finalist? The longer it takes, the less of a chance he will have to make that list. Shocking.

The class will be named Super Bowl week.